View Full Version: Sudden Telus Optik Bandwidth Realization

The Digital Doctor
02/26/2011, 12:25 PM
So I was just chillin and b**ching with myself about bandwidth caps when I suddenly remembered something: Telus' FTTH Optik TV service runs over the internet. At least that's what they told us when I worked in their Edmonton office. So what about the bandwidth caps and QOS bulls**t I keep hearing from them? Let's say I've got FTTH Optik TV and internet and I've got 1 HD and 1SD going for an average of 50 hour per week. Let's call that 5 gigabytes an hour. 5x50=250 250x4=1000 That's a terabyte of data per month for TV. Let's say you go crazy and buy $100/ month of TV programing. That's $100/month for 1TB of bandwidth h about 12megabits/second. With that in mind, what about a "heavy" TV watching household? Telus currently offers up to 2 HD and 1SD at the same time. So max that out and have all the TVs going for 12 hours a day for 25 days a month. (9gigabytes/hour)x(12hours/day)x(25days/month)=2.7terabytes/month $100 for 2.7 terabytes at about 21megabits/second I'm pretty sure the current Optik High Speed Turbo has a 250gigabyte cap. Which sounds a little wacky after looking at the TV bandwidth usage. Or is my math totally out to lunch?
02/26/2011, 12:50 PM
Your Math is a little bit off. From what I've heard from Telus, the average HD stream uses maybe 4mbit/s and SD less than 1mbit/s. So, 5 mbit/s for 1 HD + 1 SD, 5 * 60 = 300 mbit/min 300 * 60 = 18000 mbit/hour 18000 / 1024 = 17.5 gbit/hour 17.5 / 8 = 2.1 GByte/hour Also, from my understanding, TV data usage doesn't count towards your bandwidth cap, however I may be wrong on this point as I haven't seen or heard anything official on this.
02/26/2011, 01:06 PM
I heard they don't actually monitor it because the TV and internet is on the same line.
The Digital Doctor
02/26/2011, 01:15 PM
Ya the TV doesn't count toward the cap. I was trying to convert the TV usage to bandwidth since the FTTH Optik TV does go over Telus' internet systems. Even at 2.1gigabytes/hour: 420gigabytes/month for an "average" user and 1.2terabyes/month for a "heavy" user. Network congestion still sounds like a rediculous excuse, and 250gigabytes for an Internet cap sound WAY to low if the network can handle more.
02/26/2011, 04:15 PM
Quote: (The Digital Doctor @ Feb 26 2011, 01:15 PM)

I was trying to convert the TV usage to bandwidth since the FTTH Optik TV does go over Telus' internet systems.
But who can actually get Telus' fiber internet connection? Pretty much everybody is limited to DSL. Also, the congestion excuse has always been that. An excuse. If congestion really was a problem, then they shouldn't really be offering TV service if their network is that poor.
02/26/2011, 05:02 PM
The difference is going to be Distance and whose lines are utilized. Telus TV/Optik is likely using Telus lines exclusively or almost so. Internet is going to be using a lot of non-Telus lines, probably costing them access fees(I'm not really sure how these would be determined though). That said, it seems common knowledge now that all Providers are charging a Premium for what they Pay for Internet Bandwidth. This is common in practically all that we Buy. An iPod probably approx is $5 to Manufacture, for eg. This message was modified by the poster at 02 26, 2011 05:03 PM
02/26/2011, 05:02 PM
I just got Telus Optik TV a couple weeks ago. So far it's been great. We have 3tv's all HD on a lot of the time with 2 teenagers i the house and I still get just as good or better internet speeds then the Shaw High Speed Extreme. I have the 25mb download package which is available in Surrey. Also have 2 computers running WiFi and it's been a fantastic service. Only trouble i had was hooking up my Dlink router to act as a switch behind the Actiontec for my A/V Rack but once i figured out with the help of forum posts everything works great. We have a Win 7, XP and Vista machine plus a WDTV on the network and works like a charm. (now)...after some headaches.   tired today. This message was modified by the poster at 02 26, 2011 05:11 PM
Cannon Fodder
02/26/2011, 05:07 PM
Quote: (Joseph_S z Feb 26 2011, 05:02 PM) I have the 25gb download package
Should we be assuming you meant 25Mbps, i.e. referring to the speed of your downloads, as opposed to the amount you can download? This message was modified by the poster at 02 26, 2011 05:08 PM
02/26/2011, 05:13 PM
LOl yes 25mb. been a long day already.
Lance W
02/26/2011, 05:42 PM
If you have Optik TV, you effectively have unlimited bandwidth. That's the only reason I'm on Telus.